Sh. Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank ,The Union Minister of Ministry of Education, Government of India.

The President of the National Open School (NOS)

Sh. Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank was born on 15 July 1959 . He was born in Pinani Village, Pauri Garhwal, Uttar Pradesh (now Uttarakhand) to Paramanamd Pokhriyal and Vishambhari Devi. He graduated from Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University Srinagar (Garhwal), Uttarakhand in Arts, and acquired his PHD (With Honours) and D Lit.

Sh. Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank  is the President of the National Open School (NOS) Society and the Union Minister of Ministry of Education, Government of India. 

Sh. Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank was first elected for the Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha from Karnaprayag ward in 1991, and then later in 1993 and 1996 from the same constituency. In 1997 he was appointed for the Uttaranchal Development Minister. He was also Uttarakhand's Chief Minister (from 2009 to 2011) and is currently a member of Lok Sabha's 16th session and the Chairman of the Assurance Committee. He is currently a representative of Haridwar constituency in the Lok Sabha and a senior member of Bhartiya Janta Party. He was the Member of Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand for five consecutive terms from 1991 to 2012. He was elected first time in 1991 from Karnaprayag ward for three consecutive terms.

Sh. Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank was appointed Cabinet Minister for Uttaranchal Development in Kalyan Singh's Cabinet and in 1999 appointed for Cultural Fulfillment and Endowments in Ram Prakash Gupta's Cabinet. In 2000, after creation of Uttarakhand state, he was appointed for twelve departments including finance, revenue, tax and water divisions. He was first minister of 12 divisions, including finance, revenue, tax and water, for the State of Uttarakhand. In 2007, he was appointed minister for Health and Family Welfare, Language and Science departments in Uttarakhand. In 2009, he became the youngest Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. In 2012, he was elected MLA for Vidhan Sabha from Doiwala, Dehradun constituency. In 2014, he resigned from Doiwala, and elected from Haridwar for Lok Sabha.

Sh. Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank has been writing poems and stories since childhood. His first collection "Samarpan" was published in 1983. He has authored various anthologies and novels, as well as children's literature and personal development books.

Published works - (i) Samarpan (Poems)1983, (ii) Navankur (Poems) 1984, (iii) Mujhe Vidhata Banna Hai (Poems) 1985,(iv)Tum Bhee Mere Saath Chalo,(Poems) 1986,(v)Roshnee Kee Ek Kiran (Stories) 1986,(vi) Desh Hum Jalne Na Denge (Poems) 1988,(vii)Jeevanpath Mein (Poems) 1989,(viii) Bas Ek Hee Ichchaa (Stories) 1989,(ix) Matribhoomi Ke Liye (Poems) 1992,(x) Kya Naheen Ho Sakta (Stories) 1993

The National Institute of Open Schooling is privileged to have him as Hon'ble Minister of Education.

This website is made accessible to persons with disabilities. It meets the Guidelines for Indian Government Websites and adheres to Level AA of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0) of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).