After this course, the learner will be able to:

  • Identify and take care of the various tools and equipment used in cutting and tailoring
  • Identify and practice basic (temporary and permanent) and decorative stitches
  • Take body measurements (length width and circumference) systematically and follow necessary precautions
  • Master the use of sewing machine and take care of the machine
  • Follow precautions while using a machine. Identify and correct the defects in a machine
  • Control of fullness – darts, pleats, gathers
  • Make different types of seams using bias, piping and facing and plackets and
  • Make hook and eye and attach buttons, button hole etc
  • Select fabric and appropriate colour combinations according to age, tradition, Vocation and personality
  • Follow rules of pattern making, layout and fabric estimation
  • Design, draft, pattern making cutting, stitching and finishing of the Children’s Garments
  • Surface decoration of garments using embroidery, laces, buttons, beads, sequins etc
  • Fold, iron, pack and cost evaluation of stitched garment
  • Marking and storing of drafts and patterns for future use
Medium of Instruction


Entry Level

8th pass

Course Duration

1 year

Essential Course Duration

400 Hours

Course Fee

Rs. 4000/-

Course Components
S.No Title of Component Essential Contact Hrs
Theory Practical
1 Basic Stitching Skills 40 160
2 Men’s Wear 40 160
  Total Duration 400 Hours
Scheme of Examination
S.No Course Code Name of the subject / Modules Time (in hrs.) Marks Total
Theory Practical Theory Practical Internal Assessment
1 461 Basic Stitching Skills 1.5 3 30 90 80 200
2 463 Men’s Wear 1.5 3 30 90 80 200
Passing Criteria
S.No Course Code Name of the subject Certification criteria (percentage)
Theory Practical Internal Assessment Aggregate in each paper module
1 461 Basic Stitching Skills 40 50 40 50
2 463 Men’s Wear 40 50 40 50
This website is made accessible to persons with disabilities. It meets the Guidelines for Indian Government Websites and adheres to Level AA of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0) of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).